As an assignment for my undergraduate digital photography class (COM 212) I had all of the students meet me at the train station in Utica. We met, I handed out the assignment (Capture the essence of the location), and then shot for 2 hours.

If you’re not from the area, you wouldn’t know that the train station is an important part of the history of Utica. It is a part of the original downtown area of the city. Once the Mohawk River was diverted, the downtown area of Utica also changed.

This part of Utica is currently being revived. A farmer’s market takes place at the train station every Saturday, and the area has recently has a series of new businesses move in and renovate their respective buildings.

These are are a few of my photos from the session with my students. Remember that I was teaching a class at the time, so I wasn’t shooting for the entire two hours.

Leave a Reply

