Last week I had the great fortune of being invited to present at the Apple Store on the Upper West Side in Manhattan. I have to say I was flattered to be asked. I know that it is because I am an Apple Distinguished Educator and all, but it was still a big deal to me.

Even a bigger deal was that later that same evening Ziggy Marley was also going to be there. Ziggy Marley is Bob Marley’s son and a Grammy award-winning musical artist. Pretty cool that I was basically opening for him.

The presentation went pretty well. The classroom area in that particular store is right in the actual store, so it was busy, but almost all of the 30ish seats were full with some folks standing in the rear. I also had a few people stop by after the presentation because they had thought it started later than it did. I was able to stay around and speak with some awesome teachers from the NYC area after the presoand as always, I’m so glad that I did.

I spoke about using the iPad to create videos with students. The iPad is a fantastic student device. There’s no question about it. But when you use it as a mobile video editing platform, really neat things happen. I demoed a couple of neat, easy ways to use the iPad to make videos with your students in class, and ways that they can be tied into curriculum. Check out the linked video below for an example video made for a social studies classroom, made entirely on the iPad using iMovie.

The Civil War Trailer from Oneida Daily News on Vimeo.

Here are a few other images from the presentation as well as my Keynote presentation itself. Feel free to use it.

Video Production on the iPad Presentation

Leave a Reply

