I was recently introduced to Chrome extensions. I know right? I don’t know how I went so long without be introduced to the power of the Chrome extension. But all is well with the world now, because after discovering extensions, Chrome has become my primary browser and I have begun to explore through the depths of what is known as the Chrome Web Store.

If you don’t know what a Chrome extension is, it’s ok. Many people don’t. I didn’t. A Chrome extension is a little helper program that adds a bit of functionality to your Chrome browser. Most extensions will add a button to your address bar that will serve one basic function.

Screen Shot 2014-06-28 at 2.40.03 PMWhen I began to explore extensions, I was at first blown away by ow many there were. And the store is broken down into categories, just like the iTunes store. So of course I began by looking through the education extensions. I didn’t want to start out with anything crazy, but I found one simple extension that I thought I could install to start with. It is called Currently.
As you can tell from the image (screen shot from the Chrome Web Store), after installing this extension, every time you open a new tab in Chrome, it will come up with the current time, location, and weather. It is fantastic!… and extremely useful. My favorite use for this extension right now is to use it as a digital sign in my office. I have a secondary monitor that always has this window open. That way I have constant time, and current weather.

Screen Shot 2014-06-28 at 2.39.15 PMThis image is what the new tab looks like when it is opened. There are a few different color schemes, but not a lot of customization. I’m hoping to see more of that in the future. In the meantime, it is the first extension that I installed for Chrome, and the one that I am currently the most enamored by! Download and install it, you wont be dissapointed!

Leave a Reply

