So I know this is a little late. But I wanted to create a quick little post about the books that I’m reading this summer. The reason I wanted to write this post, is that I’m really excited to read these books. I can’t wait!

creatinginnovators-130px1So the first thing I am reading is “Creating Innovators” by Tony Wagner. This is a book all about innovation, how it plays a role in a young person’s life, and what we as educators can do to nurture the growth of innovation.

Yes this book is about education, but I think that even more, it’s about (in a way) building a growth mindset in children in order to help them be successful all though their lives.

59021_9781452276618My second read for the summer is “Digital Leadership” by Eric Sheninger. This book seems to have a number of stories of success from his time as principal at New Milford HS. I think in reality its more of an exploration into how technology can be used to strengthen, unify, and build a culture at a school.

I’m viewing this book as not necessarily a road map to follow, but a success story that can be adapted to many different schools/needs.

515Jg4GLDxL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_Finally (because I don’t even know if I will have time to get through three books this summer at all) my third read for the summer is a book by my fellow ADE Kelly Croy. Its called “Along Came a Leader.”

I subscribe to the notion that everything is always a work in progress, especially my skills as an educator and leader. I’m hoping that this book will help me to become a better leader by giving me some insight into the process from another’s point of view.

I’m excited to get into these books and think you should check them out too! Tell me what you’re reading this summer to recharge and get ready for the fall!

Leave a Reply

